Another Baby Kimono Top

30 Apr

I finished another baby kimono top on Friday night. This one was the first one I started, but I put it aside to make one for Hazel. I made this one for baby in size 0-3 months.

3 Responses to “Another Baby Kimono Top”

  1. Mary August 3, 2007 at 2:02 pm #

    I’m admiring your site here and I love your work.

    I have a question for you about this kimono top. I’m confused that there appear to be two ties at the angled shoulder edge, but the pattern instructions on Martha’s site have you attach two ties to one edge and only one tie to the other. Do you extend the bias edging there long enough to work as another tie? And it looks like maybe you added a third tie along the side? I like that.

  2. bobble August 4, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    Hi Mary,

    Thanks for your comment. I did add a third tie. I have one below the top neck line, another one about 1.5-2 inches down, and the last on the side. I didn’t extend the bais edging, I just placed the ties where I thought they made sense. I know the pattern calls to use ribbon, but I found that confusing and used folded over biased tape for all of my ties. Hope this helps.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Despite all the craziness, I’m still knitting and sewing « Bobble - November 5, 2007

    […] I managed to squeeze in a little sewing time this week and finished a new dress for Hazel. I totally forgot I had cut this fabric before Jonah was born. At the rate Hazel’s been growing, I wanted to try and get this finished, so she would be able to actual still wear it. This is the first dress I made that has a liner and the second one where I have added a zipper. Since I was too lazy to head out to the fabric store to get liner fabric, I used left over fabric from this baby kimono. […]

Leave a Reply

