Reason why I should have done a Gauge Swatch

22 Feb

I have gotten rather lazy. Not only have I taken to knitting in bed for 2 hours at night before I go to bed, but I don’t do gauge swatches. I don’t normally do a gauge swatch before I start a project since I tend to knit right on gauge. I suppose it is payback time. I started working on a pair of toe-up Jaywakers using the Magic Loop Technique over a week ago using some beautiful yarn by Yarn Pirate. Using size 0 needles, this is the tiniest yarn I have ever used. I was able to get as far as finishing the ankle when I realized, I could barely squeeze my foot into the sock. Just as well, I had a ton of mistakes.

toe up jaywalkers

Last night I said goodbye to the past week and a half I have devoted to knitting these socks and ripped everything out down to the toes. How sad. I am debating as to whether or not I make this my primary project, or start something else up. I think I need a small break from teeny tiny knitting.toes

3 Responses to “Reason why I should have done a Gauge Swatch”

  1. Este February 22, 2007 at 5:49 pm #

    I feel your pain! Something similar happened to me with the Jaywalkers – I couldn’t get the over my heel! They still sit languishing in one of my knitting bags… unfinished. I love the color of yarn in yours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Toasty Toes « Bobble - January 20, 2008

    […] Future Projects, Knitting, Socks — bobble @ 7:50 pm My first pair of socks since I last attempted a pair that I never finished.  I used the magic loop technique and did both socks toe up.  I used one ball of Trekking XXL in […]

  2. Toe-Up Socks « Night Knitter - February 3, 2009

    […] hoping to revive the toe-up Jaywalkers I abandoned a while back since I have this sock momentum going. Possibly related posts: […]

Leave a Reply

