Why so long, stranger?

26 Jun

Well, hello there.  It has been a while since I have posted.  My apologies for neglecting my little ‘ole blog.  My spring semester has been filled with a whole slew of fall pattern testing and sample sewing, kids’ activities, teaching, work events, and job interviews.  Now that summer has arrived, and things are starting to quiet down, I catch you up on a few projects I managed to complete.  For this post, I’ll focus on the items I’ve sewn since I have a small pile of knitted items I completed that still need to be blocked.   I must admit, I’ve been lazy and just taking photos with my phone, so ignore the blurriness.

Here is a quick run down of some of the sewing projects I completed.

I snatched up a digital copy of The Staple Dress as quickly as I could and couldn’t wait to start sewing.  I decided to use Marc Jacobs voile I purchased at Mood last year to make my first Staple Dress.

Staple Dress in voile

I made another one using AMH voile.  I thought the single line of shirring wasn’t quite enough, so I added 3 more lines.

Staple Dress  Staple Dress

I really like this pattern.  It is so straight forward and easy to make.  I highly recommend it.

H.’s really close friend celebrated her 8th birthday back in April.  For her present, I made her a pair of O + S Class Picnic Shorts and added 8 appliquéd balloons to a tee-shirt.

Bday present  bday present

For H. & J.’s school auction, I made a yoga bag.  I made another for a friend’s birthday.

Yoga Bag

yoga bag lining  yoga bag lining

For a wee friend who visited us a few weeks back, I made him an O + S Sailboat Top in seersucker leftover from fall sample sewing.  I used lime green thread and buttons to add a bit of color.

seersucker

I’ve been sewing a few things for H.’s upcoming birthday as well, but I’ll save that for a future post!

 

7 Responses to “Why so long, stranger?”

  1. kristin June 27, 2013 at 1:32 am #

    You were missed! Love those staple dresses – they look great on you. And I’m always a fan of a sailboat top…made one for a friend’s kid recently but didn’t get photos. GAH!

  2. Suzy June 27, 2013 at 6:09 am #

    I love the dress in the AMH voile! It looks great on you. I’m thinking of downloading either the Staple Dress or Kimono Dress pattern – it’s hard to see what the differences are except for the lowered hem option for the back of the Staple Dress. Did you prefer one to the other?

    • bobble June 27, 2013 at 7:56 am #

      Hi Suzy, both patterns are very similar. Out of the two, I like the fit of the Kimono Dress better. There are a few more steps involved with the Kimono dress, but the extra time is worth it.

      • suzy June 28, 2013 at 7:22 am #

        Thanks for replying, that is really helpful to know.

  3. Nathalie Palladino July 3, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Missed your blog as well busy mom! You totally got be back into sewing! You are a great inspiration! Stay well! Nathalie in CA

  4. Nicole Montgrain September 19, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Great site and wonderful patterns thanks!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Sewing | Night Knitter - July 9, 2013

    […] now has a matching pair of Oliver + S Class Picnic Shorts I made using leftover […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

