Spring Dresses

5 Apr

Spring has finally arrived in Boston.  For the past few weeks, I’ve been getting ready for the warmer weather by sewing a number of spring dresses.

I made a sample of the Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress for JP Knit and Stitch.  This is another reversible version, so I used a print from Erin McMorris’s Moxie line accompanied by orange gingham .

Roller Skate Dress

For the reverse side, I used a small peacock print from the Birds and Berries line by Lauren and Jessi Jung.

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress

I recently taught a workshop on the Schoolhouse Tunic.  As my demo tunic, I used this lovely fabric a friend brought back for me from Yu Chau Street in Hong Kong.

School House Tunic

I made two Kimono Dresses to give a birthday presents.

For K., I used AMH cotton voile.

Kimono Dress

I used boarder print rayon to make this one for A.

dress

I’m scheduled to teach a workshop on the Washi Dress, so I made two versions of the dress to help me prepare.  I loved doing the shirring at the back of the dress.  There was something so satisfying watching the elastic stink up after I blasted it with steam.

I made the scoop neck version using “Raise the Roof” by Jay McCarroll from my stash.

Washi Dress  Washi Dress

For JP Knit and Stitch store sample, I made the cut out version of the Washi Dress using organic cotton from Cloud 9′s Tsuru collection.

Washi Dress  Washi Dress

I have another spring dress lined up, so hopefully, I’ll be able to share that with you soon.

3 Responses to “Spring Dresses”

  1. darci April 5, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    what size did you make your daughter? Does the dress feel a little heavy with 2 layers of quilting cotton? i love the idea of a reversible dress, but i am worried about the weight.

    • bobble April 11, 2013 at 8:36 am #

      I made this in a size 10. With the two layers, it isn’t too heavy at all. Can’t wait to see the one you make!

  2. Larissa April 6, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    all beautiful, but ESPECIALLY that schoolhouse tunic! Wow I just love that fabric. Great choice! Your black print washi dress is awesome too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

