Roller Skate Dress

6 Mar

I love sewing samples and testing sewing patterns.  It’s been a fun way to be part of someone else’s creative process as well as get a sneak peek of forthcoming patterns.  I still get excited every time I get an e-mail from Liesl asking if I would be up for testing.  You can read more about what goes into the making of and Oliver + S pattern here.  I feel pretty lucky to have a small role in the whole process.

In December, I started testing and sewing samples for the Spring/Summer ’13 Oliver + S patterns.  As soon as I saw the Roller Skate Dress, I knew this pattern would be in regular rotation in my sewing queue.  In fact, I can’t stop making these dresses.

I made H.view a of the Roller Skate dress in size 8 using the Flora print from Julia Rothman’s Miscellany line for Cloud 9.  Since it is still winter here in New England, H. has been wearing this dress with layers underneath.

Roller Skate Dress  

I made another version of the dress in size 10 to see if it could be reversible.  To make the dress reversible, I added another button loop to the lining, sewed on buttons to both sides in the back for the dress, and left the hem length the same for both sides of the dress.  I decided to leave off the center bow since it might be a bit uncomfortable if it were facing the body.

I used 1000 Cranes in Indigo from Rashida Coleman-Hale’s latest line for Cloud 9.  There are so many beautiful prints in the Tsuru line.  Of course, the fact that all of Cloud 9’s fabrics are made out of organic cotton is a bonus.  For the other side, I used Alexander Henry’s April Showers print.  I’ve had this in my stash for quite some time.

This dress will be given to a very very special Portland girl for her April birthday, so it seemed only natural to use this print for the reverse side (Sorry for the spoiler, Nance).  I’m hoping my niece loves it as much as I do.

For dress number 3, I made view B with the contrasting yoke.

   

I used a print from Erin McMorris’s La-Dee-Da line and polka dots from Delphine Cubitt for the yoke.

the lining, I used poplin from the Spring Little Lisette collection. Can you tell which side H. prefers?

  

Didn’t I warn you that I can’t stop sewing this dress?  The simple silhouette is so versatile   I love the capped sleeves; they were one of my favorite details in the Bubble Dress. I can’t wait to try adding applique to a future iteration of this dress.  Oh, the options.  I can’t wait to see what your Roller Skate dresses/tunics look like!

6 Responses to “Roller Skate Dress”

  1. Barbara Kugler March 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Your fabric choices are fantastic! These are my favorite Roller Skate Dresses. Are you on Pinterest?

  2. kristin March 7, 2013 at 4:22 am #

    Ahhh the tsusu crane side! That is one of my favorite fabrics in a long time. I’d love to see it on my daughter (or on myself, frankly!). All of your fabric choices are great – I really love the roller skate pattern so much, one of my favorites. So versatile.

  3. replicatethendeviate March 7, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Love the last version, though they are all lovely. This pattern is on my wishlist!

  4. K March 8, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    Did you knit her hat? If so, may I ask what pattern? The dresses are all great! Look so nice for spring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

