January Gift Making

31 Jan

Just when holiday gift crafting finished up, I found myself scrambling to get started on making presents for a slew of January birthdays.

We have been in full birthday party marathon mode since the start of the new year.  Between H. & J., one of them has been invited to a birthday party every weekend.  For these birthday gifts, I added some applique to t-shirts. I’ve made so many of these over the years, I’ve stopped taking photos of them.

For one of H.’s closest friends, H. requested I make her a dress.  I let H. pick out the fabric from my stash and made an Oliver + S Seashore Sundress.

Seashore Sundress

H. wanted to help out, so she assisted in sewing on the buttons.

sewing button  sewing button

For my step niece, I made her a Oliver + S Badminton Skort.

Skort

I knit up a simple ribbed merino wool hat for my brother-in-law.

Ribbed Hat

For a dear friend’s birthday, I made her a Kimono Robe using on of my favorite prints from Jay McCarroll’s Habitat line.  The pattern is from Amy Butler’s In Stitches.  I cut down the length of the sleeves since the ones on mine turned out to be ridiculously long.

robe

Sewing all of these presents made me realize my gift stash is running a bit low.  I decided to use some leftover fabric to make a bunch of tote bags.

I used the Easy Lazy Bag pattern as a base and made some adjustments.  I choose to make gussets at the bottom of the bag instead of having rounded corners.  I also opted not to have the shoulder straps tie.  Instead, I shortened the straps and sewed them together.  Lastly, I added two interior pockets.  I’m sure I’ll find good homes for these bags come spring time.

Tote Bags

2 Responses to “January Gift Making”

  1. Ledys January 31, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    You are amazing! I love making my own gifts, but m usually pressed for time. I like the idea of a gift stash; I’ll make it my goal for the year!

  2. Juliet February 2, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    You must be so FAST!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

