Sewing for Me

4 Jan

Here is yet another belated post recounting a few items I finished sewing in 2012.

This year, I mean last year, I decided to do something I have never done before: make a holiday dress for me. I stumbled upon this fabric and Kwik Sew 3956 at JoAnn’s.

 

I wore this dress to just about every holiday party, performance, and event in December. I wouldn’t be surprised if this is my holiday dress next year as well!

I was thrilled when my favorite local fabric shop received a few bolts of Jay McCarroll’s City Center line in the fall.  Like his previous collections, I love the bold prints in City Center. I think a-line skirts are a nice way to show off the prints.

Using Downtown Portland and New Look 6035 (view D), I made this simple a-line skirt.  I should have pressed it before I took these photos.

a-line skirt  a-line skirt

I made another Lisette Continental skirt using the Uptown New York print. I also made a Continental Blouse using Kaffe Fassett shot cotton, but I didn’t get a chance to photograph it. Both the skirt and blouse now reside over at JP Knit and Stitch.

lisette skirt

In November, I taught a Tova Top/Dress workshop.  I used a fabric from Cloud 9’s Simpatico collection to make a longer Tova top.  I used this as a demo garment over the course the class. I’m saving this on for the spring and summer.

Tova

 

My lovely bridesmaids gave me a beautiful silk robe over a decade ago.  I loved that robe so much; I wore it too shreds.  I was planning on buying a new robe, when my husband kindly said to me, “just make one.” Right! I found my copy Amy Butler’s In Stitches buried in one of my bookshelves, found a few yards of lovely flannel by Amy Butler in my stash, and voila, I have a cozy new flannel robe perfect for cold New England mornings.

robe

One Response to “Sewing for Me”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January Gift Making « Night Knitter - January 31, 2013

    [...] is from Amy Butler’s In Stitches.  I cut down the length of the sleeves since the ones on mine turned out to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

