January Sewing Projects

1 Feb

Oh, January, where did you go?  Is it really a sign of old age that time just seems to be whizzing past?  Since I haven’t been prompt at posting completed projects, here is a run down of what I sewed this past month.

I’m trying to sew through my fabric stash since it has gotten way out of control.  From my stack of interlock knits, I made a few O + S Hopscotch dresses and a top.  H. lives in her Hopscotch dresses on the weekends since they are so comfy.

I made two dresses to give as birthday presents for two of H’s classmates.

  

For both dresses, I used prints from City Weekend and leftover fabric from Modern Workshop.

I made H. another Hopscotch dress in size 8, so she can wear this next year using more fabric from the O+ S Modern Workshop line.

I also made her a top in a size 8 using leftover fabric from this top.

H. prefers to wear dresses and skirts, but she does wear pants when she has P.E. at school.  I made her one pair of uniform pants over the summer to be worn on gym days, but this term, H. has P.E. twice a week.  She requested another pair of pants, and I was happy to oblige.  Using thin-whaled corduroy, I made her another pair of After School Pants.   Hoping these will still fit her next school year, I made them in a size 7. You can see by the photo, there is ample room for her to grow.

For the pockets and the trim at that bottom of the side panels, I turned the corduroy, so the lines go horizontally.

  

For the lining of the front pockets, I used leftover fabric from this top.

I didn’t mention this detail to H. when she got dressed for school this morning.  She was thrilled to see the funny little elephants inside her pockets.  Hopefully, this pants can be passed along to J.  After all, they don’t have any buttons!

For Christmas, one of my brothers-in-law gave me a few fat quarters from Amy Butler’s new line, Lark.  One of of the fat quarters was the Chinese Lanterns print in grass.  This has to be my favorite print in the entire line.  Luckily, JP Knit and Stich has it in stock, so I used it to make a O + S Birthday Party Dress sample for the shop.

For the facings and the button tab, I used Ruta in navy from Lotta Jansdotter’s Echo.

I think this combo makes such a delight spring dress.  Feel free to stop by JP Knit and Stich to get a closer look.

Lastly, I made myself a Nigella yoga bag using frabic by Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush line.  I added a few inches to the top to make room for a drawstring.

  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

