Crepe Dress for Warm Fall Days

26 Sep

I’ve been a long admirer of the Colette patterns, but have never used one until this weekend.   I pick up both the Crepe dress (Colette 1013) and the Ginger skirt (Colette 1016) patterns a few months ago from JP Knit and Stitch, but fabric from my stash I was planing to use just didn’t inspire me to actually sew these two garments.

Last weekend, I meet two of my closet friends at the shop and all us were drawn to the latest organic cotton collection from  Cloud 9 called Across the Pond. I thought the Variegated Butterflies print would be prefect for fall dress.

  

The Crepe dress is a simple wrap dress that has nice vintage feel (as do all the Colette patterns) with its full skirt, cap sleeves, and the darts in the front and the back of the dress.  My favorite part of the dress are the pockets.  They are just so darn practical.

I don’t have the patience to make up garments in muslin to adjust patterns to fit me perfectly.  I wish I had in this case since the chest area is a bit too roomy for me.  For now, instead of having a nice form fitting bodice, I’m going to leave it a bit loose until I have a chance to go back and make a few alterations.  For now, the dress is perfect for the warm, humid weather we are having.

7 Responses to “Crepe Dress for Warm Fall Days”

  1. Laura September 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Very flattering! I just bought my first three and am waiting for fabric inspiration to strike.

  2. prttynpnk September 26, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I love the fabric pattern with that dress- beautiful!

  3. Carolyn September 26, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Wow! It looks amazing!

  4. fiedlerin July 9, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I actually like it more loose fitting, this way you can put a sweater underneath when it gets cold.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crepe Dress Sewn for a Fabulous Friend « Night Knitter - October 12, 2011

    [...] and Stich and all decided to make a Colette Crepe Dress for the trip.  Shortly after I finished my dress, we learned that one our of friend’s moms was diagnosed with cancer.  I quickly offered to [...]

  2. Featured Seamstress: Jeanne | Coletterie - October 31, 2011

    [...] Her post about the dress: Crepe Dress for Warm Fall Days [...]

  3. Crepe Dress Workshop Starting on Wednesday « Night Knitter - April 13, 2012

    [...] evenings over in JP.  I’ll be teaching a 4-week workshop on how to sew up your very own Colette Crepe dress.  You can register [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

