Skipping Rope

8 Sep

The Jump Rope Dress Sew Along is hopping along.  It has been so wonderful to see everyone’s fabric choices and watch the progress on sewing your plackets.

Here are the two dresses I made to accompany my upcoming sew along posts.  For both view A & B of the dress, I used contrasting thread, so the edgestitching would be easier to see in the sew along photos.

H. picked out the fabric for view A.  She choose the Ella print from Tanya Whenlan‘s Dolce line.  I used simple square shell buttons for the placket, sleeve tabs, and pockets.

For view B, I used thin-whaled blue corduroy and cute Japanese polka dot buttons.  I purchased the buttons Purl Soho over the summer—they were on the cash wrap just screaming my name!  You can find them online over at Super Buzzy.. H. will be able to wear this dress as a school uniform.

I love view B of this pattern and am grateful H. will be able to wear the khaki one I made for her last year for a few more times before she outgrows it.  I would love to have an adult version.  Eventually, I’ may try to modify the pattern.

You can see more detailed images of the dresses over the next few days as the sew along continues. By the way, it isn’t too late to join in the Jump Rope Dress Sew Along.  Hop on over to Sew, Mama, Sew and join the sew along flickr group.

6 Responses to “Skipping Rope”

  1. crista September 8, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Oh! As always just lovely! The fabric is so summery and happy. She looks great and as always your sewing …WOW

  2. domestic September 10, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    The shoes, the shoes, where did you get those perfect shoes for the dress!?

  3. Ariane September 10, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    I absolutely love the knee highs and stockings…may I ask where you purchased them from? :-)

    • bobble September 11, 2010 at 8:22 am #

      I purchased the knee high socks last year from Mini Boden.

  4. Sharron September 12, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    Boy, if you create an adult version of the jump-rope dress, I want it! I am in the sew-along and keep thinking how much I want this dress for myself!! I am also thrilled that you did the long sleeved version in thin-wale corduroy, as that is exactly what I was thinking I would do and wondered if that fabric would work well! Yippee!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lisette Traveler Dress « Night Knitter - March 9, 2011

    [...] and S Jump Rope Dress as well. Perhaps I’ll make one out of thin-whaled corduroy to match the view B of the Jump Rope Dress H. wears to school. Then, we can both have school uniforms to don every [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

