Long Sleeve Music Class Blouse

18 Aug

H. starts kindergarten next month, so I am continuing to make school uniforms.  Before we left for vacation, I cut out fabric for a long sleeve version of the Music Class Blouse using a light blue polk-a-dot print. I decided to go with the Peter Pan collar instead of the one in view B, so H. could wear the blouse under jumpers or dresses.

I like the way my pintucks turned out much better than the short sleeved version I finished a few weeks ago.  I think the key is using a shorter stitches.  With this version of the pattern, I was able to try a few things I have never done before:  I had never sewn a sleeve placket or a button band at the end of the sleeve.  These are such nice details.

For the buttons, I was able to dig through my vintage stash and find 7 matching dark blue buttons to add to the blouse. I added a subtle bit of contrast by using blue thread for the top stitching.

In the photos, H. is wearing the Oliver and S Sailboat skirt I made for her during last year’s round of uniform sewing.  When I made it last year, I had extended the length of the skirt, but I don’t think it will fit her much longer.

3 Responses to “Long Sleeve Music Class Blouse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playdate Dress for School « Night Knitter - August 25, 2010

    [...] Last week, I whipped up a Lazy Day Skirt with half a yard of fabric from my stash and some navy bias tape.  It will make a nice coordinate piece to the last Music Class Blouse. [...]

  2. Samples for JP Knit and Stitch « Night Knitter - December 7, 2010

    [...] Croix fabric collection by Jennifer Paganelli. In these images, H. is wearing the skirt with the Music Class Blouse she wore to school [...]

  3. Music Class Blouse « Night Knitter - August 19, 2011

    [...] used this print to make another Oliver + S Music Class Blouse for the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

