Music Class Blouse and Skirt

7 Aug

I am still making school uniforms for H.  This week I have been working on the Oliver and S Music Class Blouse (view a) and Skirt.  For the blouse, I used Anna Maria Horner’s Dobby Voile Pastry in Water. Yes, it is yet another print in the Little Folks line.  For the front and back yoke, I cut the fabric so the stripes went horizontally. For the skirt, I used a suiting fabric with a subtle herringbone and shadow stripe.  To break up the stripes, I cut the side pockets and the waistband so the stripes are going horizontally.  I left the stripes going vertically for the pleats and the front and back panels.   For the buttons, I used 1/2 inch white flower buttons.  I added a small snap at the very top of the button band to prevent the fabric from folding away from  the collar.

I love the subtle details in both the blouse and the skirt.  The side pleats and pockets on the skirt are so adorable. This was my first time doing pintucks, but I think I pulled it off in the front and back of the blouse.

I have fabric cut for view B of the blouse and will start that once we get back from vacation.

3 Responses to “Music Class Blouse and Skirt”

  1. Sarvi August 8, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Did you use a special presser foot for the pintucks?

  2. Florence August 8, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Oh, this is gorgeous! I’ve been planning to make myself a shirt out of exactly that fabric in that colour – it’s so lovely to see how beautiful it looks and to have some ideas about placement for the stripes. The collar is gorgeous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Long Sleeve Music Class Blouse « Night Knitter - August 18, 2010

    [...] like the way my pintucks turned out much better than the short sleeved version I finished a few weeks ago.  I think the key is using a shorter stitches.  With this version of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

