H’s Princess Birthday Party

31 Jul

H. is 5 today!

This year, H. requested to have a princess party, and I was more than happy to oblige. H.’s request for a princess party happened to coincide with the release of Heather Ross’s Far Far Away II fabric collection, so I used the new line as my inspiration. I purchased a few yards of Sleeping Beauty in plum and Rapunzel in natural.  I loved the weight and softness of the double gauze in Far Far Away I and was rather surprised when I discovered the heavy weight of the linen and cotton blend (one of the downsides of purchasing fabric online). I let H. choose which print she wanted for her birthday dress.  She chose the sleeping beauty.  Along with half a yard of pink roses and Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Dress pattern, I made H. this:

I knew the weight of this fabric was all wrong for this dress, but I was determined to make it work.  Instead of lining the skirt, I added on the trim at the bottom to mimic the hem of the lining peaking out from beneath the dress. H. loves the dress. I think it turned out nicely and will make a great dress for the fall.

While I was sewing the dress, we were in the midst of a good ‘ole Boston heatwave.  I started to panic thinking this dress would be way too hot for H. to wear to her outdoor party. Enter princess party dress number 2.

Using the Princess and the Pea print from Far Far Away 1 and one of my handy Japanese sewing books (ISBN 9784579109708 ), I was able to whip up this simple sundress in one night.  I think the weight of the double gauze is much more appropriate for an outdoor summer party. H. loves this one even more since her back sticks out.

I was planning to make a birthday crown, when I stumble across this nifty tutorial on how to make a princess birthday hat.  How could I not make this for a princess party? Using lovely wool felt I picked up during a recent trip to Purl and some lavender and pink tulle from JoAnn’s, I made H. her own princess hat.  I added batting to help the hat keep its shape.  I also lined it with Castle Peeps fabric. I decided to add H.’s initial instead of 5, so that she could wear it long after she is 5.  While H. was playing with the tulle, she requested that the hat have a very long veil.  I have never seen her so happy to wear something I made for her as I have with this hat. She was simply beside herself.

With the extra fabric from both dresses and a few half yards from Lizzy House’s Castle Peeps, I made H. another birthday banner (without the lettering this time around).  We did reuse her banner from last year.

As we have these past few years, we celebrated H’s birthday with family and friends at a park. Aside from playing on the playground and in the baseball field in the park, we set up a craft table where guests could decorate crowns.

I picked up this hilarious hand painted Bowling Knights set at Grasshopper in Portland.  The object of the game is to knock all the knights down without tipping over the princess.

The last activity we had for the kids was brief recap of Cinderella where my husband incorporated little toys for each child to go and find.  My husband hid toys all over the park and distributed a card to each child. On each card, he had drawn representations of the each toy with a brief description of where they could be found.

After that, we all enjoyed chocolate and vanilla cupcakes I had made.

Guests left with party favor bags filled with castle-themed stickers and a castle scene rolled up and tied with gold ribbon, a crown-shaped lollipop, and castle-themed silly bandz (has this strange phenomena hit your child’s world?)

I think H. enjoyed her 5th birthday.  I know I did.

Happy birthday, Princess H.

7 Responses to “H’s Princess Birthday Party”

  1. este August 4, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I just love seeing your creativity in all the many forms in manifests at parties!! What a perfect princess party. So much eye candy and inspiration again for me to enjoy! I miss living near you!!!!

    • bobble August 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      I know! I wish you were still in Boston. I do hope things out west are going well. I owe you a long overdue e-mail!

  2. Sarvi August 8, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    What a fun idea for a party. My daughter’s only 9 months so princess parties are a ways off, but I’m sure it’s a bridge we’ll be crossing all too soon.

  3. crista October 1, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Jeanne, this looks so fun and lovely. Like the crown very much!
    How big everyone is getting. H looks so happy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wool Felt Mittens « Night Knitter - February 20, 2011

    [...] leftover wool felt from H.’s princess hat and leftover fabric from these pillow [...]

  2. Tooth Fairy will be arriving at our house « Night Knitter - March 6, 2011

    [...]  That night after she went to bed, I whipped up a tooth pillow using left over wool from H.’s princess hat and this terrific tutorial. Well, actually, I didn’t use the tutorial, I just used the printed [...]

  3. Pinwheel and Pinata Party « Night Knitter - August 2, 2011

    [...] a little pinwheel hair clip with some of the leftover fabric, Wollfliz wool felt leftover from her princess hat, all held together by a vintage button from H.’s great [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

