Reversible Skirt and Birthday Tally Shirt

28 Jul

This is H.’s last week to be 4.  Since she is just about the youngest among her friends, she can’t wait to turn 5 and to experience all that it brings (she is anxiously awaiting to start shedding those baby teeth).  I have been planning her 5th birthday party these past few weeks (a longer post with party details are soon to follow).

Last year, I didn’t make H. or J. birthday shirts.  I think I was a bit burnt out from making so many applique birthday shirts for all of their friends.  H. is constantly reminding me of my oversight in not making one for her, so I made sure to make her one this year. I’ll make one for J. closer to her birthday.

I made H. a tally shirt and a reversible skirt using fabric from Heather Ross’s Far Far Away 2 and leftover Michael Miller fabric (this time I made sure the lanterns were right side up)

For the bottom front flowers, I used some fabric from Oliver and S’s upcoming fabric line called City Weekend.

Liesl had sent me this adorable charm packin the spring.

photo from Oliver and S

H. and J. love playing with the small fabric squares.  H. picked out the fabric for the flowers for her birthday shirt.  Last week when we were in New York, we were lucky enough to schedule a little play date with Liesl and S. at the new Union Square playground (check out the article on the playground in the July 5th edition of The New Yorker).

Despite the scorching heat, we had such a delightful time watching the kids run through the sprinkler, paint pictures, and spin on the saucer.

Liesl and S. remembered how much H. and J. loved playing with the charm pack and thoughtfully gave them their own set.  H. has already requested I use the squares to make rainbow dress she drew a few months back.

She likes to go through the all the squares and meticulously lay them out for her dress.

J. likes to use them as mini blankets for his Playmobile people.

Who knew that excavator drivers work best with soft blankets?

I can’t wait for the fabric line to hit in the fall!  It is made from the softest cotton with the most adorable prints.

2 Responses to “Reversible Skirt and Birthday Tally Shirt”

  1. Raven July 28, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    How cool to hang out with Liesl!! And I love it when boys play with fabric – in any form! My boy helps me “cut” scraps.
    I just got the FQ set of City Weekend – it’s sooooooo soft!
    I love your kids clothes!

  2. Este July 30, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    happy birthday to Miss H! And I love the blankets for the playmobil guys. I just read that article about the playgrounds last week! Looks like a great time :) can’t wait to see what you’ve cooked up for the birthday celebration.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

