Everything is Coming Up Green

16 Mar

This was completely unintentional, but all of the projects I completed over the weekend are green. Was this my subconscious preparing for St. Patrick’s Day or me just wishing that spring would get here sooner?

Here is the run down in order of completion.

Recently, my good friend Kim sent me a lovely eulogy for a pair of mittens I made for her a few years back.  As a belated birthday present, I made her a new pair to replace the ones she had lost. I  had forgotten how much I love making “Peacock Mittens” and using Morehouse Farms 3-strand variegated merino wool yarn.  Luckily, I was able to order a few hanks during their winter sale (20% off through 3/20).  For this pair of mittens, I used one hank of Fern Glen.  Since I knit pretty tightly when I am knitting in the round, I made some adjustments to the pattern: I made the cuff a bit longer and switched from #5 needles to #6 a few rows before the thumb gusset.  I loved making these so much, I started another pair last night.

I’ve been making oven mitts lately to give away as presents.  The last few have gone to guys, so decided to take the leftover stripes of fabric I cut to make those oven mitts and add some floral-printed fabric to it. I finished two oven mitts and have another one partially done.  One will go to a friend for her upcoming birthday, another will be donated to my daughter’s school for their upcoming silent auction, and the one in the works will go to my gift-giving stash.

One of my sisters-in-law’s closest friends has to be one of the most creative people I know. You’ve probably seen her work in ads for Target, Starbucks, Nike and with The Girl Effect.  Ever have a creative crush in someone? I have one on her (and on my sister-in-law).  I caught a glimpse of the most beautiful scarves she made while I was FB stalking her. They were so light and airy and reminded me Mark Rothko paintings since the colors just melt into one another. In my feeble attempt to make a similar scarf, I used some leftover Rowan Kid Silk Haze and cast on way too many stitches on needles that were too small.  After 2 nights of knitting, I put this aside.

I started over with more leftover yarn and was able to finish this scarf.  It is about 5 feet long and wraps around my neck once quite nicely, but I would have liked it to be a bit longer. I will probably donate this scarf to H.’s school auction.

I ripped out the first version last night (breaking the yarn a billion times) and am going to try another version with fewer stitches cast on hoping it will be a few feet longer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

