Purple Haze

12 Feb

Using fabric by Robert Kaufman, I made H. dress C from another one of my Japanese sewing books.  Girly Style Wardrobe by Yoshiko Tsukiori (ISBN 9784579111329 or ISBN 457911132X) has so many adorable patterns.

Since I don’t read Japanese, I tried to pick out a pattern that I could follow along fairly easily by looking at the illustrations.  Dress C fit the bill. It has angular raglan sleeves, a sweet little pleat in the middle, and bow at the neckline.  I made this in the 110 cm size for the ever growing H.


Since this dress was so easy and quick to make, I cut fabric to make another one that H. can wear at school.  I am going to make slight modifications to the pattern.  Additional details are soon to follow…

More and more fabric by Anna Maria Horner seems to be creeping into my stash.  I adore her new lines!  I recently purchased some prints from her Little Folks cotton voile line.

Out for the two purple prints, I made these two scarves.

This one is a bit thicker.

I made this one longer and thinner.

6 Responses to “Purple Haze”

  1. Crista February 12, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Love that dress on H. Looks so summery.
    I ADORE her new voile line. Great minds think alike at least scarf wise…
    They look great!

  2. Bonnie February 12, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Love how your dress turned out. I made that one in corduroy with a plain tie and messed the tie up somehow–not sure what I missed on the pattern, but my tie is about twice as long. Seeing yours, now I know for sure it was my mistake and not the patterns ;)

    • bobble February 12, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

      Hi Bonnie,

      I used the longer of the two ties. I wasn’t sure why the pattern had you cut two long ties on the fabric fold. I am starting to think the shorter pattern piece for was interfacing to make the collar stand up more. Who knows. I am going to try cutting the tie on the bias to see if it will help the the tie around the neck line lay flat more.

  3. Lisa February 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I’m so glad you made this – it’s been on a list of mine. I have made skirt D/E a few times now and love it. It is such a great pattern and I love that the elastic is only in the back – it looks so much more finished. I had a friend get me started with a few translation tips and from there have found that all of the patterns can be followed through the pictures I will have to start on that dress now.

  4. Este February 13, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Lovely, just lovely! I was just looking at some of that cotton voile the other day. Seeing it in your blog post, I think I may pick up some of it! I love Anna’s fabrics.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. School Version of the Modified Dress C « Night Knitter - February 15, 2010

    [...] and outgrowing a few of the school clothes I made for her.  I made a few modifications to the dress C pattern, and finished a new dress over the weekend. H. should (hopefully) be able to wear it through the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

