First Day of School

14 Sep

Hard to believe that H. is starting at her “big” school today and that J. will be at Montessori school without her. To make the transition a bit easier for both of them, I made them bunny buddies using leftover yarn.

H. has named hers “Pom Pom.” J. named his “Vaca.”  I think that may be the first Spanish word I have heard J. say.  He know’s  his new buddy is a bunny, but he still likes to say is it a cow.

Today, H. choose to wear the Birthday Party Dress uniform version I made for her.

I must admit I am still a bit tearful since this is such a big milestone. It has given me a chance to reflect on a few of my favorite things about H. and J.:

  • H.’s favorite band right now is Camera Obscura.  I often hear her belting out “French Navy.”
  • H. still refers to escalators as “moving stairs.”
  • H. loves to do water colors with her dad after J. goes to bed.
  • I get a kick out of J.’s obsession with baseball and his insistence that he sleeps with baseball cards from his dad’s youth.
  • The fact that J. talks nonstop when his sister is not around to speak for him.
  • I love hearing J. refer to H. as “sissy.”

Please pardon me, while to go and get more tissue….

5 Responses to “First Day of School”

  1. Kristina September 14, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Congratulations on this huge milestone. This is a lovely post.

  2. melinda September 15, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Hi, my son had his first school visit today and I also needed a tissue. He has a little sister that will be lost without him!

    Love all your creations, you must be a busy lady!

    Melinda

  3. Crista September 15, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Your kids are so lovely! What a big week for us all.
    H looks so lovely in the dress you made.

    I know you are a proud Mom.

    xxx

  4. Este September 21, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post, I love to hear all these little special details!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lacy Bonnet « Night Knitter - October 7, 2009

    […] is for N.’s older sister, and the other is for H.  H. has been heart broken since she lost Pom Pom, so I made her another little bunny.  I still have some left over yarn used to make Pom Pom (which […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

