Marathon Uniform Sewing Has Now Come to an End (for now, at least)

5 Sep

I have never really been a fan of wearing the color khaki. I suppose it is a bit too close to my skin tone, so I always feel as if I get washed out. That and it always has been a wee bit too preppy for me.

Khaki is one of the 4 colors H. can wear to school, so I felt obliged to make at least one khaki-colored garment. I made view  B of the O & S Jump Rope Dress in thin-whaled corduroy.  I used robin’s egg blue thread for the top stitching and found these sweet little vintage buttons in my grandmother-in-law’s button collection. In this incarnation, khaki never looked so good to me.

I am happy to report that my marathon of uniform sewing has come to a close, at least for now.  I keep thinking of other items, like a crisp white shirt, to add into the mix, but I feel as if H. has more than enough new clothes to start at her big school. The fun part will be seeing what she picks out for her first day of school.

When I decided to make H.’s school uniforms, I was a bit underwhelmed with the bland color palette, but 15 items later, I admit I loved every minute of it. It was nice to be able to revisit some of my favorite patterns as well as try out a few more.  I’m sure I’ll be making more navy blue, baby blue, white, and yes, even khaki items over the next few months since H. is bound to only get bigger and bigger.

H. wanted a photo with her mini-ds since they matched with her dress.  Our real mini dachshund recently turned 14.  The stuffed one has been with H. since she was in the NICU.

I’m looking forward to adding a bit more color back into my sewing.

13 Responses to “Marathon Uniform Sewing Has Now Come to an End (for now, at least)”

  1. ballofyarn September 5, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    All the uniform sewing has looked great. Any little girl would be happy to wear navy blue every day with such cute outfits! I’m so jealous you got the Jump Rope Dress pattern early. I just finished a Sunday Brunch jacket & skirt, and I’m working on Sailboat pants.

  2. Crista September 5, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    I love the buttons and the thread in contrasting colour!

    Wow! H has a wonderful wardrobe for school. She is really lucky!

  3. Shahar September 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    I really like how this came out!

  4. Miranda September 7, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    Even though I am a big O&S fan I was not completely sold on the jump rope dress until I saw your two versions. For some reason both versions seemed a little dowdy to me – I think because view A is pretty much identical to standard girl’s uniforms here in Australia that are always worn big and ill fitting and are no doubt made in sweatshops! Seeing the versions on the O&S blog moved me a bit, but now that I have seen yours I am convinced – both are really spunky! In fact view B looks incredibly sophisticated when I thought it would perhaps be a bit sack like!

  5. Jennifer September 8, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Oh my goodness! This is adorable! I will have to get this pattern Nice work (and cute kid too).

  6. Heather September 9, 2009 at 12:43 am #

    Beautiful work, and fabric choices. Your accomplishments with two little ones are astounding.

  7. embellishboston September 13, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    I really admire your sewing and your creativity while working within the guidelines of the uniforms :)

  8. molly September 22, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    I think if more people saw your version of this dress, they would be selling this pattern a lot more! Found you through flickr and am so pleased to see all of your Oliver and S pieces. My girl is only 7 months, but I want to start sewing some dresses for her for when she is 2T sized….

    Your blog is excellent!

  9. Kim July 4, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    You are so creative, and she is adorable. I can’t believe you made that dress and managed to stay within the guidelines of the school uniforms.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oliver and S, Jump Rope Dress | Whipped Out - November 21, 2009

    [...] some time but thought that they weren’t quite for me. I’m not sure why.  I then saw this gorgeous but understated version of the new Jump Rope Dress.  I purchased the pattern and fabrics at Treadle Yard Goods in St. [...]

  2. Skipping Rope « Night Knitter - September 8, 2010

    [...] as a school uniform.  I love view B of this pattern and am grateful H. will be able to wear the khaki one I made for her last year for a few more times before she outgrows it.  I would love to have an [...]

  3. Back to School Skirt Sewing « Night Knitter - August 4, 2011

    [...] one. Now, students are required to wear a polo with the school logo and khaki bottoms.  I have written before on my disdain for the color khaki, so I was less than enthusiastic with school’s decision [...]

  4. Jump Rope Dress Sew-Along ~ Sleeves & Sleeve Cuffs | Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog | - June 1, 2013

    […] image below is my daughter wearing View B of the dress I made her last year. With the unfolded sleeve, she can wear it a few more times before the dress is retired to a box in […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

