Jump Rope Dress (view A)

4 Sep

H. has yet another dress for back to school. I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of the fall/winter Oliver and S patterns and made view A of the Jump Rope Dress.

One of the many things I love about the Oliver and S patterns is that I feel like I learn something new every time I use one.  I still consider myself somewhat of a beginner sewer (even though I have been sewing for a number of years), so the wonderful tips and hints that are sprinkled throughout the patterns are like little pearls of wisdom for me. I must say that these patterns have given me so much confidence in my sewing ability.

For this dress, I used navy blue and white polka dot cotton fabric and square shell buttons. I love these buttons and used them for the first Birthday Party Dress I made. I wish I had more.  Hoping H. will be able to wear this dress for a while, I made it in a size 4, but the length is in size 5.

I love all the little details in this dress pattern.  I would love to make another one without the sash and the belt loops.  The drop waist is just so cute.

I have fabric for view B of the dress cut and ready to go. I think this will be my last item to sew for H.’s back-to-school wardrobe.

The fall/winter patterns go on sale next week, so be sure to grab this one!

5 Responses to “Jump Rope Dress (view A)”

  1. Crista September 4, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Jeanne, it is perfect I don’t think you can be seen as a “beginner” sewer anymore. This is so nice! Well done.

  2. Liesl September 4, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Whoa, you’re fast! It looks wonderful on her, and I’m so glad you enjoyed sewing it!

  3. Jennifer March 6, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    Hi! The jump rope dress is very beatiful. I love it. I would like to make it. But I don’t have such money to buy the pattern as I am a teenager and live in other country. Would you like to send the pattern to me by email? I’ll thank you so much.

    • bobble March 6, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Hi Jennifer,

      I can’t send the pattern to you. I would suggest contacting Oliver and S directly to see if there is a local shop in your area where their patterns can be found.

      Good Luck finding it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puppet Show Dress as a Uniform « Night Knitter - July 27, 2010

    […] or two in the lost and found a few times.  I thought this was a funny request since she only has two dresses for school that have belts.  I’ve been able to fulfill her no belt request with this […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

