Sailboat Top, Skirt, and Pants as a Uniform

7 Aug

And school uniform sewing continues…  This week, I’ve added 3 new items to H.’s school wardrobe.  For this round of sewing, I used the Oliver and S Sailboat top, skirt, and pants pattern,  heavy bottom weight twill, light blue cotton shirting fabric, and vintage buttons.

The skirt was made in size 4, but I based the length on the size 5 pattern.  I hoping H. can wear this for most of the school year.  For the top portion of the skirt and the kick pleat in the back, I used robin’s egg blue thread to add a bit of contrast. The navy blue vintage buttons are from my husband’s grandmother.  They are just so delightful.

The shirt and pants were made in size 4. Even though I loved the contrast stitching on the skirt, I opted to match the thread for the shirt and pants hoping that J. will be able to wear these once he gets bigger.

I really liked the grooves in these light blue vintage buttons. The remind me of LPs.

This is my third time around making the sailboat top and pants. I found a minor error in the pattern which I hadn’t noticed before.  When sewing the inseam, the pattern says to join the wrong facing pieces of the fabric together to stitch.  Instead, it should read the right sides.

3 Responses to “Sailboat Top, Skirt, and Pants as a Uniform”

  1. Sam August 8, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    adorable and well executed, as always!

  2. liz September 8, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    i made the size 4 for my daughter (in the skirt), but think it’s too short to wear for too much longer! it makes me so sad too! i didn’t even think about making it a 5 in length. thanks for the tip!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Long Sleeve Music Class Blouse « Night Knitter - August 18, 2010

    […] the photos, H. is wearing the Oliver and S Sailboat skirt I made for her during last year’s round of uniform sewing.  When I made it last year, I had […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

