H’s Puzzle Birthday Party

3 Aug

H. turned 4 late last week, and to help her celebrate, we threw her a puzzle-themed party over the weekend.

puzzle invitations

For the invitations, I used my aging Print Gocco machine to print the text.  Using a piece of one of H’s & J’s floor puzzles as a template, I cut out each invitation in the shape of a puzzle piece.I stamped each name of the guests on the envelopes and created stickers using a scalloped punch out with a Craft Pudding stamp of a little girl who resembles H.

A while back, I purchased  Alicia Paulson’s Stitched in Time.  From that book, I made H’s birthday banner from left over fabric. Instead of painting the letters on, I used iron-on transfer paper and created the text on my computer.  I’ll be able to reuse it for future parties, but for now, it is hanging in her room with the non-text side showing.

The color inspiration for the party came from the Oliver and S Popover Sundress I made for H.

Our friend Sharon, who is the creative mind behind Sweet Bea Cakes, made H’s gorgeous birthday cake.  When Sharon and I met to discuss the cake, I knew I wanted 4 puzzle pieces, since H is turning 4, with one piece disconnected from the rest. It was Sharon’s brilliant idea to hand paint the flower design of her dress onto the cake. Not only was the cake beautiful, the chocolate ganache and marshmallow fondant just melted in your mouth. I think the cake totally made the party!

We held the party at a local park. So while the kids weren’t playing, I set up a table where they could make their own puzzles.  On the table, I spread out a bunch of rubber stamps, ink pads, and  markers for them to decorate blank puzzles.

For the party favors, I wrapped up matchbox puzzles.

The only thing I have left to do is make thank you cards.

With all of H’s previous parties, I think the theme of this one can came together quite well.  Last night when I put her to bed, H. hugged me and whispered in my ear: “I have a secret in two parts for you, Mama. I loved my party and adored my cake.” I’ll take that sweet thank you any day.

10 Responses to “H’s Puzzle Birthday Party”

  1. Kristina August 3, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    This is ridiculously cute. I want to say “I can’t believe it”, but I can because it is you. The cake is amazing. So glad you had super weather for the party. Looks like H had a great time.

  2. Este August 4, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    What a wonderful party! I love the theme – so creative and also really fun. The cake is beyond words. But so is the little girl, and the mom for that matter!

  3. East Sac Mom August 21, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    Beautiful party, thank you for sharing!

  4. Sascha May 17, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    This is amazing! I am so stealing this idea in a few years. Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And more back-to-school sewing « Night Knitter - August 10, 2009

    [...] Popover Sundress I made for H’s 4th birthday was so easy and quick to make that I decided to make her another for school. For this dress, I used [...]

  2. puzzle party : Party Perfect - June 10, 2010

    [...] shared this beautiful party she threw for her daughter’s 4th birthday. The puzzle cake, with the flower detail inspired [...]

  3. H’s Princess Birthday Party « Night Knitter - July 31, 2010

    [...] fabric from both dresses and a few half yards from Lizzy House’s Castle Peeps, I made H. another birthday banner (without the lettering this time around).  We did reuse her banner from last [...]

  4. Pinwheel and Pinata Party « Night Knitter - August 2, 2011

    [...] day of the party resulting in all the pinwheels spinning (I reused the birthday banners from her 4th and 5th birthday [...]

  5. Spring Birthdays « Night Knitter - April 6, 2012

    [...] who makes the most breathtaking cakes.  A few years back, my friend, Sharon, made H.’s puzzle cake for her 4th birthday. To celebrate my husband’s birthday, I threw him a party and asked Sharon to make his cake. [...]

  6. H.’s Pool Party « Night Knitter - August 7, 2012

    [...] We reused the birthday banner I made for H.’s 4th birthday. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

