Sailboat Top with Iron-On Transfer

20 Jun

I have finally managed to sew something for J this year.  I made him the Oliver and S Sailboat top (size 2) using blue and white seer sucker.  I also attempted to do my first iron-on transfer. I downloaded a free race car template from the Ottobre Designs site and manipulated it using Photoshop.  I flipped the image so the 4 would appear the right direction, changed the color, and increased the size. I placed the transfer so it would start on the front side of the shirt and go to the back.

The ink didn’t completely transfer very evenly, but overall, I think the shirt looks adorable. When I was doing the transfer, my iron left a light brown stain on the shirt.  I’m hoping I can get this off during a washing.  If not, the stain will just blend in with the rest of the inevitable stains my 21-month year old acquires during the course of the day.

I have left over fabric cut and ready to sew for a pair of sailboat pants.  Hopefully, I’ll get to that next week.

4 Responses to “Sailboat Top with Iron-On Transfer”

  1. Este June 22, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    what a great shirt for your little guy! i’m sure the racecar went over well :)

  2. Heather June 26, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    The seer sucker is great, and J is adorable. I just visited the Ottobre site with all those wonderful downloads. Downloaded tons of stuff, so now I have a lot of new craft projects to get started on! My new nieces will be styling!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Outfit Completed « Night Knitter - July 9, 2009

    [...] Tags: linen, oliver and s, sailboat pants, Sewing Sailboat pants for J. are done. I made J. the top last month, and started on the pants this week. For the pants, I used the leftover gray linen from [...]

  2. My son is tortured by my sewing « Night Knitter - March 5, 2010

    [...] that have wheels. I took a chance and decided to sew him a new Oliver and S Sailboat Top since he out grew the one I made for him last year. Since I knew I wanted to use a non-sports related print, I figured Michael [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

