Puppet Show Shorts

30 May

H. has been asking for a pair for shorts for quite some time now. I think she has only had one pair of shorts since she always insisted on wearing dresses or skirts.

Last night, I finished making her the Puppet Show Shorts by Oliver and S using some black, or is it dark gray, linen I picked up the last time I was downtown. This is the same fabric I used to make the trim for the 2+2 Blouse I finished last week. I love the pockets on the sides.  I think I will make more little pockets like these and add them to an a-line dress.

As always, the pattern was so well written and easy to follow.  I think I cut out a larger size for the bias trim at the bottom of the short cuffs since these didn’t have the cute gathering on the sides as the illustration showed.

As you can see, H. is totally pleased with these shorts and couldn’t wait to wear them.  I’m sure I’ll be making her another pair soon.

7 Responses to “Puppet Show Shorts”

  1. Jeannine May 31, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    Well, it you make the top a bit longer, she will still be wearing a dress. She looks fantastic. I love the fabric you used, and I am dying to try out those shorts.
    P.S. you are right about the pockets. Adorable.

  2. Larissa June 12, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

    I just spent about twenty minutes gawking at all your beautiful sewing and knitting. You get so much done! And it is all beautiful! thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sailboat Top with Iron-On Transfer « Night Knitter - June 20, 2009

    [...] have left over fabric cut and ready to sew for a pair of sailboat pants.  Hopefully, I’ll get to that next week. [...]

  2. Outfit Completed « Night Knitter - July 9, 2009

    [...] Outfit Completed July 9, 2009 Filed under: Baby/Toddler, Finished Projects — bobble @ 6:18 am Tags: linen, oliver and s, sailboat pants, Sewing Sailboat pants for J. are done. I made J. the top last month, and started on the pants this week. For the pants, I used the leftover gray linen from H’s 2+2 blouse and puppet show shorts. [...]

  3. Making H’s School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 7, 2009

    [...] love the little pockets that are on the side of the Puppet Show shorts.  I knew I wanted to put that same pocket on a dress. This a-line dress was made from the same [...]

  4. Ice Cream Top and Puppet Show Shorts « Night Knitter - June 15, 2010

    [...] the bias. I also made another pair of Puppet Show Shorts in brown linen since H. has outgrown the black ones I made her last summer.  I do hope they reprint this pattern with larger [...]

  5. Puppet Show Dress as a Uniform « Night Knitter - July 27, 2010

    [...] loves it  and wanted to wear it to camp this morning. As an alternative, she picked out a pair of Puppet Show Shorts and a  2 +2 Blouse [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

