Bubble Dress

29 Jan

For my sisters-in-law’s upcoming wedding to take place on Valentine’s Day, I wanted to make a new dress H. could wear to the rehearsal ceremony and rehearsal dinner. I made her the Bubble Dress from Oliver and S. The top is in a size 4 and the skirt is in size 5. Since I have been battling a cold for almost a week now, I fear there are a lot of mistakes. See if you can find them. I don’t recommend sewing with a head cold.

I used a soft cotton sateen fabric for the dress and a mid-weight cotton print for the lining. When H. first saw the dress, she said she wanted to wear it inside out. Luckily, she changed her mind and is now willing to wear it with the boring non-print side facing out. Her main complaint was that the dress didn’t twirl up enough for her liking, but at least she likes it enough to try it on.

I’m hoping to make her a shirt out of the left over lining fabric before I tackle hemming her flower girl dress and J.’s. tux.

6 Responses to “Bubble Dress”

  1. Shahar January 30, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    It’s beautiful! I know one other little girl who would LOVE this purple dress… H is so cute!
    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Julia January 31, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    You did a beautiful job – I want a dress like this! I love the unexpected lining – it makes it!

  3. Heather February 10, 2009 at 8:16 am #

    I love this dress. The bubble dress and the lining are adorable — as is H. I really can’t wait to see the tux for J however! That’s an impressive undertaking!

  4. バッグセリーヌ May 1, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    An additional problem this prospects can be basically tired of is also undoubtedly malware.
    As a final would be i would say the income probable for the moment there?
    This Brighton clutches and handbags comes armed with a
    new earth friendly slant. YSL Roady could be described as usually Jenny’s moving bag within an take up. http://www.greenhornconnect.com/content/celine-bags-actually-long-time-come

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anna Tunic Dress « Night Knitter - May 27, 2010

    [...] Anna Tunic Dress May 27, 2010 Filed under: Finished Projects,Sewing — bobble @ 6:09 am Tags: amy butler, Anna Tunic Dress, Liberty of London, Tana Lawn I suppose the sole benefit of having to take an unexpected day off from work due to an act of vandalism is that I get to do a little day-time sewing.  It is extremely rare that I get time alone at home, but in between making phones calls, filing various reports and walking the kids to and from school, I was able to pull out my abandoned Anna tunic dress and finish it yesterday.  A few months back, I splurged a purchased a few yards of the Purple Flowers print by Liberty of London from the Tana Lawn line. I adore Liberty of London fabric and wish I could indulge a bit more. For the lining, I used the same sateen cotton fabric I used to make this bubble dress. [...]

  2. Roller Skate Dress | Night Knitter - March 6, 2013

    [...] so versatile   I love the capped sleeves; they were one of my favorite details in the Bubble Dress. I can’t wait to try adding applique to a future iteration of this dress.  Oh, the options. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

