Built by Wendy Top Finished

30 May

I finished sewing my first top for me last night. I used one of the Built by You patterns by Built by Wendy (Simplicity Pattern 3835). I have always been a fan of her clothes and guitar straps, and was thirlled to discover last year that she released Sew U and a line of patterns for Simplicity. I made this simple top using a black and white striped linen fabric. It masks my 19 week pregnant belly.

11 Responses to “Built by Wendy Top Finished”

  1. este May 30, 2007 at 12:45 pm #

    Nice shirt and nice belly!!

  2. mccloskeyjl May 9, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    I just discovered this pattern today, and your version is very nice. I like the linen fabric, and that fine black line makes it look very chic.
    Jeannine

  3. Sarvi April 3, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Lovely blouse — and congratulations!

  4. Steph VW April 4, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I was just fiddling with a dress/tunic I made from this pattern. The darts in the dress are in the wrong place for a short girl like me. And as I’m a novice seamstress, I didn’t notice it until AFTER i had the dress together.

    Great top and Congratulations on that wee belly! Exciting times!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Spring Outfit for Hazel « Bobble - February 22, 2008

    [...] attempt at sewing a pocket. This top was extremely easy to make. It is constructed much like the Built By Wendy top I made last spring. I am going to make another top for Hazel–one that is longer with a [...]

  2. Sewing in Japanese « Bobble - February 25, 2008

    [...] is basically a dress version of a Built by Wendy shirt I made last year and shirt I just finished for Hazel.  Using the sizing chart from Hanna Anderson, [...]

  3. Best Friend Cardigan « Bobble - September 2, 2008

    [...] suppose I should have ironed the linen shirt I made when I was pregnant last year before I took these photos. It would have gotten wrinkled [...]

  4. Tulip Skirt (gone wrong) « Night Knitter - August 30, 2009

    [...] only sewn one thing for myself since I started sewing again. I have accrued a few patterns I’ve been wanting to try out, but [...]

  5. A New Dress for Me « Night Knitter - September 15, 2009

    [...] actually sewn. This Built By Wendy pattern (Simplicity Pattern 3835) is the same one I used to make this top when I was pregnant with J. It was fun to sew darts in the back of the dress.  I have never sewn [...]

  6. Built By Wendy (Simplicity 3835) « Night Knitter - April 3, 2011

    [...]  pattern #3835 view C sews up so quickly.  This is the second time I have made this shirt; the first being when I was pregnant with [...]

  7. Built By Wendy (Simplicity 3835) « Night Knitter - April 5, 2011

    [...]  pattern #3835 view C sews up so quickly.  This is the second time I have made this shirt; the first being when I was pregnant with J. a few years [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

